[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Changes in backgammon over the years

Posted By: Joe Russell
Date: Wednesday, 8 July 2009, at 2:48 a.m.

After a long hiatus from tournament backgammon, I returned about 16 months ago. I found several things had changed: The people are nicer; information is more freely dispersed; and clocks are becoming the standard.

As has been stated on this forum by Chuck, tournament players are nicer than they were years ago. When I started playing backgammon, far too many years ago, it was not uncommon to see macho, arrogant, abusive, and insulting behavior at tournaments. I am not sure why that was or why for the most part it does not exist today. It could be that prior to the bots, no one really knew how they truly stacked up against other players and the insecurity that came with that influenced their behavior. The bots now tell you how good you are and there is no room for false bravado and false arrogance. That is a big improvement. Unfortunately, the bots also told a number of bad players who thought they were 'the unluckiest player ever' that they were really just bad. I think this drove some of the weaker players away and had a negative effect on tournament attendance.