[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

"Nack 57" rule -- new race formula (for both traditional and Naccel)

Posted By: Nack Ballard
Date: Wednesday, 3 February 2010, at 11:13 p.m.

In Response To: "Nack 57" rule -- new race formula (for both traditional and Naccel) (David Rockwell)

David: I may have missed this in other posts - where can I find the "gold standard" table?

Nack: I couldn't find it searching online (though, admittedly, I'm not so good at that). Ian Shaw, who did some analysis/work on the gold standard table some years ago, sent it to me. (Thanks, Ian!)

David: How was the gold standard table derived?

Nack: This is an explanation sent to me in an e-mail from Paul Weaver, who writes better than I do:

More than thirty years ago, while I was working as a computer programmer, I did the single checker model. I was neither the first nor the last to do this.

Here is what I mean by the single checker model: Assume that each player has only one checker and a very long backgammon board, consisting of 150 pips and no contact.

All of the racing probabilities and doubling decisions can be computed recursively. Start with (1,1). Each side has just 1 pip to go to win. The guy on shake is 100% to win and the cube actions are initial double, redouble, and pass.

Walter actually took this concept a step further and programmed the single checker model not only for money (as I had done) but also for all match scores, giving the user the option to enter his own MET.

How does the single checker model differ by the real backgammon race of 15 checkers? Walter said that there are two forces acting in opposite directions that cancel each other out.

The two factors: (1) The 15-checker race has more wastage than the single checker model and (2) the 15-checker race has greater variance. It was Walter's belief that these two forces negated each other.