[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Rules/Ethics Question from Novi

Posted By: Tom Keith
Date: Friday, 15 July 2011, at 4:47 p.m.

In Response To: Rules/Ethics Question from Novi (Steve Mellen)

For reference, here's the U.S. Backgammon Rules and Procedures:

4.9 COMPLETION. Each game must be rolled to completion, unless ended by passing a double or redouble, or conceding a no-contact position as a single game, gammon or backgammon loss. Neither matches nor games may be canceled, replayed or settled. Players are responsible for playing to the posted match length. The first player to reach the posted match length is the winner.

I interpret this to mean:

  • Your opponent cannot resign the match.
  • Your opponent may resign a game if it is a noncontact position and you and he agree on the result (single game, gammon, or backgammon).

Steve's questions:

(1) If I had accepted Jason's resignation, would the match be over? What if he realized his mistake immediately afterwards?

Jason's resignation is not legal because you and he haven't haven't agreed on the result. IMO you have to both agree on the points and write the score down before the game is official. (At that point the match is over only if one player has reached the required number of points.)

What if he realized his mistake after we had packed up the board, or after the result had been reported?

This becomes more difficult as time passes. Ultimately, I think it is up to the TD to decide if too much time has passed to resume an incomplete match.

(2) As an ethical matter, was I obligated to point out his mistake?

Yes. The proper procedure was not followed. Both players are responsible for seeing that proper procedure is followed.

(3) If some people find the ethical question too easy, here is a similar situation that comes up quite a bit. Often a player will concede the game or the match when he still has a miniscule chance to win or save the gammon (he rolls 6-6 three times while you roll 2-1 twice, or whatever). Maybe he realizes he has a tiny chance and just doesn't care, or maybe he doesn't realize it. Is it wrong to accept his resignation if you see that he still has a mathematical chance? Should you point out to him that he still has a chance before you accept?

If contact is broken, either player may resign the game as long as both players agree on the result. I don't think there is any obligation (even ethically) to point out a faint chance of saving gammon.

My thoughts.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.