[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Nactation questions

Posted By: Matt Ryder
Date: Sunday, 27 November 2011, at 6:52 a.m.

In Response To: Nactation questions (Timothy Chow)

In my professional life, I have had a lot of experience with notational systems. Just as an experienced software engineer can smell a mile away when a particular design decision is going to result in incomprehensible spaghetti code years down the line as people struggle to be backwards compatible with a variety of random, ad hoc conventions, I could see at once that if an opening 41 played 13/9 24/23 were allowed to be nactated 41S rather than 41Z, then nactation was inevitably going to turn into spaghetti code eventually.

Tim, don't confuse nactation with a mathematical "notational system". It isn't that, nor was it designed to be. Rather, it's evolved as a descriptive language. Like a language, it's largely unbounded, contains synonyms, overlapping definitions, irregularities and even supports 'ungrammatical' formations (so-called "assumptive" nactation). Like a language, a new speaker can pick it up incrementally (unlike a mathematical notation, all the rules of which must be understood up front). Like a language, it's expected that the newcomer will make certain errors, but that more fluent speakers will probably get the gist from context. Think late (as opposed to early) Wittgenstein.

Taper_Mike's laudable efforts in formalizing some of the rules here should be seen as analogous to the efforts of a linguist labouring to codify the complexities of a language's underlying grammar.

But just as you don't need a degree in semiotics or grammar to parse an English sentence, the average nactator doesn't need to care about the 'wrinkles' in the hit/most/6 definition in order to learn the basic symbols.