Ruling: Two-fer (Part 1)
Posted By: Daniel Murphy In Response To: Ruling: Two-fer (Part 1) (neilkaz)
Date: Saturday, 5 May 2012, at 4:08 p.m.
In Response To: Ruling: Two-fer (Part 1) (neilkaz)
where's the confusion here?
In how the clock rules (designed for one pair of dice) do or don't mesh with the tournament (no clock) rules (designed for two). Clock rule 4.1 penalizes premature dice snatching: A player shall not touch or pick up the dice until the opponent hits the clock to complete his turn. A player who prematurely picks up the dice forfeits his per move deductible for his next checker play. The player on turn stops both clocks and summons the Director to claim the time penalty, unless both players agree to accept it. The penalized player must wait until his deductible has counted down to zero before rolling his dice. So, you apply Clock Rule 4.1, and then either you also apply Tournament rule 4.6 because the player not only picked up the dice out of turn but also rolled them out of turn -- on opponent's time -- or you don't because the snatching off the clock is a procedural violation that is penalized and the roll after the snatching is irrelevant to the Clock Rules procedural violation and null.
Messages In This Thread
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.