Posted By: Tom Keith In Response To: Ruling: Two-fer (Part 1) -- US clock rules (Chuck Bower)
Date: Sunday, 6 May 2012, at 6:37 p.m.
In Response To: Ruling: Two-fer (Part 1) -- US clock rules (Chuck Bower)
Two players are playing using a clock and the U.S. backgammon clock rules.
Player A has just finished making a checker play. He is satisfied with his move and absentmindedly picks up the dice instead of hitting the clock. He realizes his error immediately and sets the dice back down, but now he sees a better move.
Player A's clock is still running. Can he take back his move and change to different move? Or is Player A's turn over because he picked up the dice?
Possibly applicable rules:
Clock Rule 3.4: COMPLETING A TURN. A player completes his turn by "hitting" the clock with the same hand used in moving, leaving the dice in place on the board.
U.S. Tournament Rule 4.5: LIFTING DICE. A player concludes his turn by lifting either or both of his dice. He may reposition the dice on the playing surface to facilitate moving the checkers, but in the event of a dispute he will be at a disadvantage if he fails to give notice to the opponent before doing so.
Messages In This Thread
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.