[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

A difference in the rules--what's your take

Posted By: Michael Sullivan
Date: Thursday, 27 March 2014, at 3:06 a.m.

In Response To: A difference in the rules--what's your take (phil simborg)

1. You are playing without a clock. Your opponent makes his move. He starts to pick up the dice and moves them, but does not actually pick them up. Then he decides to change his mind. You have not rolled. Is his move over or should he be allowed to change his move?

Generally touch/move. If it looks like an adjust without notice, I'd be inclined to let it go. If it looks like a decision change, the move should stand. If there is any question about intent, if the dice were touched without notice, move stands. I prefer playing with clocks so this is a non-issue.

2. Your opponent leads 2away/4away and holds a 2 cube. He forgets he is 2-away and redoubles to 4. If you realize his mistake, are you "honor-bound" to point it out or can you accept the cube? If you accept the cube, and the error is discovered right away, is the cube dead? If it is discovered right after the match, what then? (Same thing applies to cubes give at Crawford.)

Cube is dead when the player owning it cannot possibly profit from a double under any circumstances.

3. You opponent puts his own checker on the bar instead of yours by mistake. You notice this. Should you have to point it out, or should you simply play on?

Must point it out, and must correct no matter how far the game has gone if either the previous position can be reconstructed, or the current position can be corrected without invalidating previous plays. TD discretion if players cannot agree on a fair reconstruction.

4. Your opponent is on the bar and rolls a 6-5 which enters. He thought he rolled a 6-6 and picked up his dice. Then he realizes his mistake. Should he be allowed to correct it if you haven't rolled yet? Should he be allowed to correct it if you have rolled? If you noticed the mistake, should you point it out and let him come in?

If both players agree on the correct dice roll after the fact, then a legal play should be made according the dice rolled. I would not allow this after I have rolled if I didn't notice the discrepancy in time.

5. Your opponent clearly hit your checker and clearly intended to hit, but accidentally picked up his dice before he lifted your checker to the bar. The move could have been played legally without a hit. Should you let him put the checker on the bar or is he out of luck?

I usually point it out if the intent was clear, but from a rules standpoint I think this should be allowed to stand.

6. Your opponent clearly reaches for the cube but does not touch it or say that he is cubing. Is he obligated to double?

I've never been fond of the "any indication of doubling is a double." rule/ethic. reaching for or looking askance at the cube is an indication that one is considering doubling seriously, and could be used to gauge a psychological response from the opponent. So is taking more than 2-3 seconds before rolling. We're not playing bridge, we don't have a partner who can take advantage of information we let out. A double happens when we say "double" or touch the cube.

7. Your opponent states that if you double he will take. If you then double, should he be obligated to take is not?

I like the idea of making verbal declarations binding, as in poker.

8. Your opponent likes to take lots of pictures with his smart phone. Should he be obligated to state what his move or cube action will be before he takes the picture?

S/he should be obligated to let me or the TD observe everything s/he is doing on the phone while taking a picture at opponent's discretion.

9. Your opponent says that he needs a bathroom break. Should he be allowed to do this in the middle of a game or must he wait until between games?

I would prefer to allow this, but it should be reserved for emergencies to avoid the appearance of impropriety. I believe it should be at opponent's discretion, and the clock should be running in a clocked game.

10. Your opponent likes to use a baffle box. You don't. Is he allowed to use the baffle box even though you don't if you don't want him to?

I can't imagine why not. Do some people really hate baffle boxes that much?

11. Both players are fast-rolling most of the match. Then, suddenly, on an important roll, one player says the other player's roll doesn't count because he fast rolls. Should he have lost his right to call a fast roll if he wasn't calling it or warning his opponent earlier? (Of course there would have to be some testimony of witnesses or agreement by the players that there has been fast rolling previously, but assuming this is the case and all players are honest, what should the rule be?)

That seems like angle-shooting. You can't selectively enforce the rules. TD should make the decision here, but I believe the roll should stand unless the player calling the fast roll has done so without picking up dice and proceeds to change their move..

12. A spectator sees one of the players writing down the wrong score. Should he speak up?

to the TD.

13. A spectator sees that the clock has been left running accidentally--should he speak up?

to players who have left the game on a break perhaps, or to the TD, not to players while one is moving/rolling/thinking.

14. A player rolls the dice then quickly picks them up saying they were cocked. The other player believes they were not cocked. How should this be settled?

Need to get agreement about cocked dice before picking them up. Hard to settle and a rough TD decision if the players cannot agree on the roll in question.

Messages In This Thread


Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:

If necessary, enter your password below:




[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.