[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Why not hit them both?

Posted By: Timothy Chow
Date: Sunday, 28 December 2014, at 10:37 p.m.

In Response To: Why not hit them both? (leobueno)

The short answer is that making the 4pt is a permanent asset that will serve you well throughout the game, whereas hitting a second checker provides at most a short-term benefit of a tempo and 10 pips, since you have no board. White will simply re-enter and you will have forgone a chance to build some valuable structure.

In general, there are only a few exceptions to the rule that you should make the 4pt with double 2's in the first few rolls of the game.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.