[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

An old practice with a new twist? (long)

Posted By: Phil Simborg
Date: Thursday, 21 May 2015, at 12:53 a.m.

In Response To: An old practice with a new twist? (long) (Chuck Bower)

I like and agree with all you said, but I will add that I do prefer to play one side so that I can focus just on defending the back game, or playing the back game, or seeing why it was right for me to hit or not, etc.

When I am studying and practicing, I would much rather play a bot than be distracted by another human being. I don't care what he would play or think...I want to focus on what I think and then, what the computer says about my thinking. Unless, of course, that other player is a teacher or mentor that can point out errors in my thinking or make suggestions on the spot that would help me adjust my decision-making process. Also, when I am playing against a bot, I can stop, save a particular position, look at dice distribution to check my thinking, look at race formulas to see if I did Keith or Trice right, look at cube information to see if I accurately assessed the gammon values and take points, etc. I find it better to do those things immediately, on the spot, while the thoughts are fresh in my mind and so that I can immediately check and correct my assumptions.

To solve the problem of playing against a bot that does not play like a human, I recommend playing against a lower level bot. On XG, if I want to play against a near-perfect opponent, I play against "extremegammon." But if I want to play as if against a human that makes errors, I choose a lower level XG, usually "professional" or "expert"--and by the way, both of those are highly exaggerated descriptions of how it plays.