[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Clocks

Posted By: Matt Cohn-Geier
Date: Wednesday, 3 September 2008, at 9:01 p.m.

Let me summarize my thoughts and feelings on this matter. I realize that I don't have much backgammon tourney experience, but I have about 6 years worth of chess tourney experience, so I'm not completely unqualified to speak on clocks.

1) I am, as a former chess player, strongly biased about clocks. OTOH, that's because clocks work so well in chess. There's no such thing as unclocked chess; it's like playing backgammon without a doubling cube. It's not "real" chess. I'm not sure if that will happen in backgammon or not, but I would like to see it happen.

2) The point of clocks, IMHO, is not to guarantee that rounds will start on time or to force players to speed up their play (in chess, clocks do guarantee that rounds will start on time, but that's a different story). It's to add a degree of professionalism to tourneys and make life easy for the TDs, so that they can have an easier time doing their job and generally making sure rounds start on time.

3) The cocked dice rule needs to be changed. Seriously, there's no point in keeping it the way it is. I liked the suggestion on here about resetting the delay when dice are cocked. After the buffer is reset the player can pick up the dice and roll again.