[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Teach a Poker Fish

Posted By: Stanley E. Richards
Date: Sunday, 29 April 2007, at 5:34 a.m.

I have been waiting to write this post for a long time. I decided to deny myself this pleasure until I became an expert backgammon player. Well, I have not arrived at this level. I am getting close. I enjoyed a 5.8 Snowie rating during 46, 7 point matches against Snowie during April. However, one good month is not enough to be an expert. I was a bit less than expert in April online play. In fact, I have never played at expert level online for a month. In order to truly be an expert, one must play at said level every month online and in practice against a Bot.

However, I can no longer wait. I want you guys to tell me how to become an expert poker player. I was going to wait until I was a backgammon expert before learning a new game of skill. But, I now want the action that poker can bring and backgammon cannot. One may have to wait a long time to find a backgammon online game. This is not true for poker. Thus if one is truly skilled, one can earn money with online poker. Earning backgammon money is a longer, slower process.

I am not naïve. I do not believe that I can become a poker expert in a few months. I have no desire to play middle or high stakes poker. For several months, I will enjoy “play money” online poker. Then, I will play at small stakes for several years until I can graduate to middle stakes. Heck, I have been seriously studying backgammon since February 2004 and I am still not an expert.