[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Clock concerns - your thoughts please.

Posted By: Frank_N_Stein
Date: Tuesday, 2 March 2010, at 7:42 p.m.

Before stating my concerns let me say; I am a pro clocks for the sake of keeping the tour flowing on time, and due to my lack of live play in the past few years I have never played with a clock. Until I have my own clock experience I am relying on the posters here to address my concerns and help me understand.

I have read practically all of the posts regarding clocks. One of the well respected giants of our game has stated he believes the clock settings are where they need to be. This is coming from a person that knows more about this game on his pinky than I may ever know. My point is this, he plays the game second nature and sees the board in ways I don’t. He is capable of playing his very best and should not be concerned about timing out against me. I am basing this on the ability to play second nature and when he does play horrible he is reduced to my level of play.

On the other hand, in order for me to beat the giant I must focus hard and make sure I see alternative plays in order to make a good playing decision. How can I ever hope to defeat him if I do not do this? I can not rely on the luck of the dice to do it!

Do you think the giant has a twofold advantage with the current clock settings? 1) He is a stronger player and in order for me to think things through I am prone to timing out? I am not suggesting I slow to a crawl. Just not use the fast roll and move some of us have come to call the norm of play, and 2) The giant sees my clock is running low and chooses to shift gears and play very complicated positions that he can play second nature while I have to scratch my head causing time to run off the clock or make blunder after blunder from not thinking clearly. LOL, even if I think clearly the blunders can still appear.