[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Misunderstanding the Jacoby rule

Posted By: Timothy Chow
Date: Tuesday, 23 August 2011, at 4:55 p.m.

In Response To: thought this was a nice one to post (Ben E.)

Ben E. wrote:

This is a money game. The rule is this: No player can win an undoubled gammon in a $$$ game.

Yes, this is known as the "Jacoby rule." What I was saying was that it is a common misconception that if the Jacoby rule is in force, then assessing gammon chances is irrelevant while the cube is centered. The point is that just because the cube is centered now, doesn't mean that you're not going to lose a gammon as a result of a bold play you make. The cube could get turned, you might be forced to accept, and then you may proceed to lose four points. Therefore you still need to consider gammon losses.

If you're still skeptical, let me issue a challenge to you. Find a position with a centered cube where Play A is clearly better than Play B when the Jacoby rule is in effect, but Play B is clearly better than Play A when the Jacoby rule is not in effect. I think you'll be surprised at how difficult a challenge this is.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.