[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Nactation — 43U-11 @ DMP Rollout — 2011 Update

Posted By: Taper_Mike
Date: Monday, 31 October 2011, at 3:19 a.m.

In Response To: Nactation --- 43U-11 @ DMP Rollout (Nack Ballard)

In his post here, Nack uses assumptive Nactation to arrive at the assignments given below for 43U-11-d. His assumption is the one that Petter Bengtsson suggested: "[I am] assuming you'll start with 6/5(2)*. After that you can play P 5/4(2)* or H 6/4*."





White is Player 2

score: 0
pip: 160
1 point match
pip: 167
score: 0

Blue is Player 1
XGID=----aaE-C---eE---c-e----B-:0:0:1:11:0:0:0:1:10
43U-11-d

  • H = 6/5*(2) 6/4*
  • P = 6/5*/4*(2)

By making a different assumption, Nack comes up with an alternate Nactation. He writes, "One might reason that the double-hit is assumed." As Nack explains fully in the post cited above, under the assumption 6/5*/4*, the assignment to P becomes:

  • H = 6/5*(2) 6/4*
  • P = 6/5*(2) 6/4*
  • p = 6/5*/4*(2)

This should serve as a warning to those who use assumptive Nactation. In this case, different assumptions lead to different letter assignments. But things get worse. Since the time of Nack's original post, he has altered the definition of P (Point). You can read about the changes in the 4th position of the Nactation: Study, Tutorial Supplement, and Annactated Game. A dedication clause now mandates that all parts of a roll nactated P must be used to make the new point. A strict Nactation using P cannot contain a loose hit, and P, therefore, can only mean to make the 4pt in the position 43U-11.

So, how should the loose hit be nactated? With the broader definition now accorded to "down" (any move made to or within the outer board), H (Hit) might fairly be construed to mean 6/5* 8/7(3). Were the same "down" convention applied to K (Kill), it might be interpreted to mean 6/5*/4*, 8/7(2). Only when "down" is required to be played from the midpoint does the assumptive technique work. Aces are blocked from the midpoint, and so it is fair to assume that they were played sanely!

The new Nactation rules for doublets, first publicized in October 2011, provide a solution. They lead to an unambiguous Nactation that does not require assumption. The play in question, 6/5*(2) 6/4*, has all four portions of the doublet 11 played in the inner board. Such a play is now part of the I (Inside) family. The hit/most/six rule can be applied to determine which family member is the right one. Within the inner board, the most points convention takes precedence over the hit convention (another tidbit revealed in the aforementioned Tutorial Supplement). With this roll, either the 4pt or the 5pt can be made. The one closest to the 6pt is awarded the upper case letter. But that still leaves two aces to be played. Fortunately, there is only one way they can be played in this case: 6/4*. Even if there were an alternative, however, the upper case letter I would still be assigned to the hit. This is because no play allows you make another point, and hitting on the 4pt, therefore, would take precedence over any alternative that does not hit.

Hence, we have the following Nactations:

  • I (Inside) = 6/5*(2) 6/4*
  • P (Point) = 6/5*/4*(2)

Mike

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.