[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Puzzle: Fool's mate in backgammon

Posted By: Daniel Murphy
Date: Wednesday, 23 May 2012, at 11:49 a.m.

In Response To: Puzzle: Fool's mate in backgammon (Stick)

Assume A ran out of time, are you ruling the position as a gin position and awarding the match to A anyway?

Stick, what happens if A claims a gin position (and actually has one) a split second after running out of a time instead of a split second before is a good but different question. According to ABT Clock Rule 5.3, A would either (1) lose, because that's what Rule 5.3 says, or (2) win, because that's what Bill Davis says here: http://www.bkgm.com/rgb/rgb.cgi?view+1447. Under WBF Rule 4.3.3, this is not an issue -- Player A can claim gin even after his time has expired.

Want I want to know is, assuming A has the right to claim a gin position, is gin gin with A playing A's checkers or with B playing A's checkers? Sam's comment seemed to imply that B gets to make A play bad plays (like misplaying 21 2/1/off instead of 2/off 1/off) but I don't know if Sam was talking about a definition of gin in tournament conditions or not.

Another question would be how Clock Rules 5.1-3 should really be written to address claiming (as opposed to conceding), gin positions, and stopping the clock. First, because Bill's ruling makes Rule 5.3 say the opposite of what the rule actually says -- the rule says that if your time has expired, it's too late for you to claim a match; Bill's ruling says it's not too late. Second, because Rule 5.2 doesn't allow you stop the clock to claim a match. Why not? (Compare to WBF Rules 4.3.2.8 and 4.3.3).

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.