| |
BGonline.org Forums
Nactation — Clarifying the H (Hit) family
Posted By: Taper_Mike In Response To: Nactation — Clarifying the H (Hit) family (Timothy Chow)
Date: Wednesday, 26 December 2012, at 7:10 p.m.
–
Can H be used for 6/2* 5/3? Position ID: bLsbABBQAAB/Pw Match ID: UQkRAAAAAAAA At the end of the day, the most important thing about Nactation is the ease with which it can be used to express 99% of early game moves. When you are unsure about a certain Nactation, you can usually find an obvious alternative. Each player should use the tool in the way that best suits him. The clever, arcane discussions that sometimes interest you and I are trivial by comparison. Those conversations tend to confuse many, and scare other players away.
That said, let’s continue our little confab.
As the rule was explained to me, the exception to playing down occurs for “forced” moves, and when entering from the bar. In the absense of further explication, I assume that means that 6/2* 5/3 in the position above cannot be nactated in the H family. According to the definition of “forced move,” the 2 is not forced. Because of that, I would use I = Inside (6/2* 5/3) and i = inside (6/4 5/1).
If you choose to use H = Hit (6/2* 5/3), however, no one will be confused. Perhaps Nack would go further, and allow the more liberal interpretation of the word “forced” as it applies to Nactation. I don’t know.
Although abstruse, it is an interesting issue.
Mike
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.