| |
BGonline.org Forums
New U.S. Rules ratified
Posted By: Gregg Cattanach In Response To: New U.S. Rules ratified (Stick)
Date: Wednesday, 5 December 2007, at 6:40 p.m.
4.7 - Error in Setup - correct prior to fifth roll. So 4 moves in we notice we had a bad starting position, how do we 'correct' it?
Put the mis-placed checker back where it should have been. In 99% of such situations, it will be obvious where the mispositioned checker belongs. In the other 1%, call the director. (Almost all setup errors have to do with one checker extra or missing from the midpoint, 8-point or 6-point. After 4 rolls, it is almost always trivial to put the misplaced checker back where it should have been.)
So you're telling me all moves stand as played even though had the checker been there it may have changed one or more plays??
Yes all moves stand as played. No moves can be replayed. If you don't want to be in this kind of jam, don't start with an invalid starting position :) By the way, this is not a new rule.
Question #4: 5.6 - Dead Cube - it should be clarified that a person may not recube when he owns the cube and the value of the cube would put him out (make him the winner of the match) but not his opponent.
This rule does NOT address that situation; reread the rule and you'll see this is clear. It only addresses the dead cube in effective DMP situations. If I am 2-away and my opponent is 4-away and I hold a 2-cube, my redouble can be accepted and is not invalid.
That's why I said it "should" be clarified ... why allow the cube to be turned? If you're going to uphold it can be turned as a director, are you also going to uphold the opposite if it occurs? In other words if my opponent owns a 2 cube and he's -2 but I'm -4 and he recubes and I drop and now I realize the match is over ... are you going to maintain the match is over?
The rule is perfectly clear; there is no clarification necessary. If it is already effective DMP, ("the match will end with the current game"), then any cube turns are invalid. This rule does not speak to the other situations you've brought up. You are trying to make this rule address situations it does NOT address.
In answer to your last question, yes, the match is over. There is no rule preventing you from dropping that cube. There is no rule that protects you from your failure to know the score.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.