[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Reaching in the direction of the cube - question

Posted By: roadkillbooks
Date: Tuesday, 17 April 2018, at 7:08 p.m.

In Response To: Reaching in the direction of the cube - question (ScottJ)

I suppose I had the old Simborg, Bower, Horton rues in my head,,

"If a player verbally says he doubles, or says he is going to double, he must double when it is his turn. If a player clearly reaches for the cube, or picks it up, or gives any indication that he is doubling, he must follow through and double."

Or maybe a different set.

Last month in Ohio, after a joker, joker sequence. I reached to cube. I immediately caught myself before I touched the cube.. I realized that the position was clearly too good. I then stated "ah I dont want to cube but I have already reached for it, so now I must cube"..

That cost me almost a double whopper... it is even worse now becuase it would appear that I did not need to double at all.

------------

In a different scenario.. and I am not sure how the rules as now stated play out

If a player clearly says "I double".. but it is not yet there turn... it seems like the current rules obligate them to double when they legally can. Also when playing legal moves.. does this prohibit the opponent to not obligate them to double?

roberto

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.