| |
BGonline.org Forums
Frustrating Rolls
Posted By: TarHeelFan In Response To: Frustrating Rolls (Matt Ryder)
Date: Sunday, 5 August 2018, at 6:22 p.m.
Wait, what is vague or ambiguous about "a shot that can be hit by rolling only one die"? What "implied clauses" are there? Surely not entering from the bar. The rule in backgammon is that checkers must be entered from the bar before playing anywhere else. Why does it matter how many dice you roll?
I have never offered up any definition of my own. I've simply said that I like Karol's definition, and I've given reasons what I think some of your examples are not direct shots.
For what it's worth, putting dice on the board (as in your 11 example) does not change whether or not you had a direct shot before rolling (which is all the definition is for). After the roll, you either have a hit or you don't. It no longer makes sense to talk about "shots".
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.