[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

"Gin position" -- definition

Posted By: Timothy Chow
Date: Saturday, 7 October 2023, at 9:35 p.m.

In Response To: "Gin position" -- definition (Nack Ballard)

As I understand it, the USBGF rules don't use the term "gin." They do say the following about the completion of a game.

All moves, games, and matches must be played to completion unless ended either by the pass of a valid double, by the expiration of a player’s game clock reserve time, or in non-contact positions by the resignation or valid claim of a single game, gammon, or backgammon. A resignation may be accepted even if continued play could result in a different outcome.

The final sentence above addresses the possibility of resigning a game that is not necessarily lost.

Dmitriy is certainly entitled to reject the resignation even though there is no way the opponent can lose a gammon without some kind of misplay or other irregularity. And the rules above imply that he's entitled to accept the resignation even though he could lose.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.