| |
BGonline.org Forums
Aligns with Europe? Yes
Posted By: Daniel Murphy In Response To: Aligns with Europe? (Chuck Bower)
Date: Tuesday, 11 November 2008, at 3:51 p.m.
Chuck asks: Someone please remind me: is the same as one of the European sets of rules?
The new ABT rule is now aligned with the BIBA and DBgF rules, although the language in the three rules is not exactly the same.
History:
Before 2007, the ABT rule was that premature rolls must be rerolled. At that time, there where two other rules in Europe. The BIBA rule was that premature rolls stand. The DBgF rule was that premature rolls stand or are rerolled at the option of the opponent. In 2007, the ABT adopted the BIBA rule. In 2008, BIBA adopted the DBgF rule. And now (starting in 2009), ABT has also adopted the DBgF rule.
ABT, BIBA and DBgF have been the primary sources for rules used in European tournaments. The other major tournament organizer in Europe is Partouche. The Partouchegammon Tour rule for the 2007/2008 season was that premature rolls stand. Perhaps Partouche has changed (or will change) that; their website has the 2007/2008 rules.
Current BIBA Rule text:
4.6 Premature Action. All completed premature actions (see below) shall stand or be re-rolled at the opponent's discretion. An opponent who has yet to complete his turn or act upon the cube, may then do so with the foreknowledge of the premature roller's dice throw or cube action.
- If you premature roll and pick up your dice before any number was seen, you must roll again
- If one number was seen, the other die must be rolled
- If both numbers were seen, then the dice are replaced on the board with that number
- If cocked dice are prematurely rolled, then another roll must be completed and that roll is the premature roll
- Any premature handling of the cube or verbal references to doubling is deemed to be a cube action
See http://www.backgammon-biba.co.uk/frames.html
Current DBgF Rule text:
4.1 Dice and Rolls.
4.1.5 PREMATURE ACTION.
4.1.5.1 General. If a player rolls before the opponent has completed his/her turn, the player shall only reroll if the opponent demands so.
See http://www.nordicopen.dk/rules/tournament_rules.html
Current (?) Partouche Rule text:
6.15 Premature roll: A player concludes his move by lifting both dice. Premature roll stands. A player may complete or act with foreknowledge of the premature roll. A premature roller cannot use the cube and must play the premature dice when the opponent concludes his turn.
See https://backgammon.partouche-game.com/html/backgammon/tour/conditions_generales_en.pdf
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.