[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Forfeiture / flag falling

Posted By: Bob Koca
Date: Thursday, 12 February 2009, at 3:30 a.m.

In Response To: Forfeiture / flag falling (Jason Lee)

Isn't anyone going to quote the rule !?

From the US backgammon rules http://www.chicagopoint.com/bgclockrules.html

"5.3 TIME EXPIRATION. A player who exhausts his reserve time before he can validly claim the match is declared the loser."

The only times that a flag falling and going unnoticed would matter is if a gin position is later reached for the player whose flag fell or if the other player's flag also later falls.

So the problem to me is what the "can" means. Does it mean "before he actually does claim the match" or does it mean "before he had the possibility of claiming the match" ?

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.