[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Forfeiture / flag falling

Posted By: Gregg Cattanach
Date: Thursday, 12 February 2009, at 9:06 p.m.

In Response To: Forfeiture / flag falling (Matt Cohn-Geier)

If I were a TD and asked to rule on a match where Player A's flag had fallen but the position on the board was gin, (and leads to a match win), Player A has won. He reached the gin position before the flag fell. If Player B didn't stop playing and continued making moves after the flag fell, that's his error.

It is Player B's responsibility to stop playing and claim the win (or wait for adjudication of the gin position) when Player A's flag falls.

This is my interpretation of the rule. I'm fully aware that all of this isn't explicitly stated in the rule. Nor am I worried about parsing the meaning of the word 'can' :)

On the GTII clock if you use the sudden death time control you get the red light and if you set the 'Claim' setting to ON, the clock will stop incrementing time for the 2nd player when the first flag falls. Thus you never have two fallen flags.

(I guess the phrase flag 'falling' is like 'dialing' the phone.)

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.