[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Forfeiture / flag falling

Posted By: Rich Munitz
Date: Friday, 13 February 2009, at 3:08 a.m.

In Response To: Forfeiture / flag falling (Bob Koca)

Actually, now that I look at the rules again, you are correct. It does not appear that there is any provision for a player having a gin position to claim the game. Only for a losing player to concede. The old (non-delay) clock rules had such a provision as I recall.

However, even the non-clock rules seem to state that a player may concede but not claim a game:

4.9 COMPLETION. Each game must be rolled to completion, unless ended by passing a double or redouble, or conceding a no-contact position as a single game, gammon or backgammon loss. Neither matches nor games may be canceled, replayed or settled. Players are responsible for playing to the posted match length. The first player to reach the posted match length is the winner.

Note above the rule clearly states "first to posted match length is the winner". It does not matter whether both players screwed up. First to 9 in a 9 point match.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.