[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Forfeiture / flag falling

Posted By: Rich Munitz
Date: Tuesday, 17 February 2009, at 1:56 p.m.

In Response To: Forfeiture / flag falling (Matt Cohn-Geier)

In other words, if the 62 has not yet been played, it is clear from the fact that the other player has already flagged that the flagging must have occurred prior to the 62 roll since his clock was not running any more.

However, once the player moves the 62 and hits the clock, it can no longer be determined by simple examination of the physical evidence whether the flag occurred before or after the gin event.

The director when called to adjudicate will see the gin position and the flag simultaneously and if the players disagree as to when the flag occurred (e.g. the non-flagging player says "a moment after I hit the clock I noticed the red flashing light meaning he was already flagged", or "he clearly made his play in under 12 seconds and so the flag must have happened earlier") the director must collect the facts from all sources and rule.

The more I think about it, the more I am feeling that it should be that any flag and you lose. Period. If you have a gin position and can't manage to make your plays within the buffer then I guess it was not really gin.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.