| |
BGonline.org Forums
clock "ETHICS"
Posted By: Walter Trice In Response To: clock "ETHICS" (Bob Koca)
Date: Tuesday, 3 March 2009, at 7:06 a.m.
"8. A game is won by the player -- ...
(c) whose opponent completes an illegal move, which includes leaving his king in check or moving his king into check, but only if the player claims the win before he himself touches a piece (see Rule No. 18) or captures that king as valid proof;"
That's from the 1977 edition of the USCF/FIDE rule book, so possibly they might have changed it in the meantime. The commonly understood rule as I remember it from 5-minute tournaments in the 70s was that any illegal move at all could end the game.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.