| |
BGonline.org Forums
May I put a checker on the bar before moving my own?
Posted By: Rich Munitz In Response To: May I put a checker on the bar before moving my own? (Timothy Chow)
Date: Monday, 12 October 2009, at 9:39 p.m.
I think that the relevant US rule here is the following:
4.3 MOVING. A player shall move the checkers in an unambiguous manner, using only one hand.
This rule implies to me that there is more that matters when making the move than simply where the checkers have wound up at the moment when the dice are lifted. Any action moving the checkers that can cause confusion as to what is being done should be avoided.
In this case, the rules are pretty clear that an opponent's checker is hit when the player's checker touches down on it. Clearly it cannot have been hit if none of the player's checkers have been moved.
However, in practice, I think I would be generally tolerant of this kind of thing in certain situations. The situation where I think it is most acceptable is when a checker is on the bar and is going to enter on top of the blot. It is clear to all that the checker on the bar must be the first checker moving and particularly if the hit is forced, I see no ambiguity whatsoever. I would also be tolerant of this kind of play if the hitting checker is going to be left on the point the blot was occupying. Placing it on the bar first is then more a matter of making room on the point for the hitting checker. In all cases, I'd expect the hitting checker to be placed on the point without delay.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.