| |
BGonline.org Forums
May I put a checker on the bar before moving my own?
Posted By: Rich Munitz In Response To: May I put a checker on the bar before moving my own? (mfic)
Date: Tuesday, 13 October 2009, at 1:29 a.m.
I agree completely about what the rules call for and that things should be kept obvious to all. But as for the "not condoning of time saving motions", I must admit that as a player, if I had a blot on my 5 point I would never have a second thought about any opponent with a checker on the roof who rolled a 5 and first lifted my blot and then immediately placed his checker on the vacated 5 point. While technically out of sequence, it is clear and unambiguous in my opinion. If I were the director and someone complained about such an action, I would certainly ask the player not to do it anymore. Just because I don't have any problem with it doesn't mean someone else couldn't, and they'd be justified.
If someone rolls 64 with a blot on the 20 point and the 18 point vacant and plays 24/14 without ever touching the blot on the 20 point, and then lifts the checker to put it on the bar, they have failed to hit the checker in the required manner (by landing on it), yet we all condone it even though the play was truly ambiguous prior to the blot being lifted. I can't imagine anyone ever having a problem with this scenario. In fact every time someone runs all the way with a single checker (assuming no hit is possible) without touching down in the middle, the play is ambiguous, but we just don't care because it makes absolutely no difference; it is a generally acceptable time saving motion.
I think this is another case of the ultimate rule being that of common sense.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.