[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Time to stir the cauldron again... Appeals committee

Posted By: Rich Munitz
Date: Sunday, 25 October 2009, at 7:20 p.m.

In Response To: Time to stir the cauldron again... Appeals committee (Daniel Murphy)

The problem with "hit your clock without moving and you end your turn" is that it as you say - violates a general rule of backgammon: you may not pass your turn. You have not made an illegal move - you have passed your turn by virtue of not rolling your dice. If you roll your dice and then hit the clock without making a play, I suppose that could be construed as an illegal move. But if you don't roll your dice at all, you have passed your turn and that is simply not allowed. It is covered specifically here:

http://www.bkgm.com/faq/BasicRules.html#can_i_pass_when_it_s_my_turn_

bkgm.com is given as the "general backgammon rules" link on chicagopoint.com, where the ABT results are posted, and the ABT rules defer to the "commonly accepted rules of backgammon".

I agree with Patrick's "rule clarification".

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.