| |
BGonline.org Forums
Cube ruling #2
Posted By: Steve Mellen In Response To: Cube ruling #2 (Tom Keith)
Date: Thursday, 4 March 2010, at 7:37 p.m.
A better way to look at it is that the TD rules that either the player's action crossed the line into capricious cube handling or it didn't. Chuck wants to know, if there was capricious handling, does that mean it counts as a double, or does that mean the other player has some kind of option to decide whether it's a double.
Chuck and I seem to be in agreement that a rule which gives the other player an option isn't really necessary. Such a rule would basically imply that no cube turn is legal unless it is completed in one continuous motion, which isn't a particularly necessary thing to put in the rules. If I reach for the cube and then pause for a moment, maybe to confirm the count, it would be a little weird if my opponent could say "aha, that's a capricious cube action, now I can bar you from doubling this turn!"
I think the rule is there to discourage a relatively rare form of intentional gamesmanship that probably isn't likely to yield information even when it's used. I don't know that we need to turn it into more than that.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.