| |
BGonline.org Forums
Director ruling
Posted By: Rich Munitz In Response To: Director ruling (Barry Silliman)
Date: Tuesday, 16 March 2010, at 3:16 p.m.
"Variation: Player A sets his own checkers up quickly and then rolls while player B is finishing setting up his checkers.
I would rule against player A here."
Variation 2: Match is being played without a clock. Both players have two dice in their possession. Player A sets his own checkers up quickly and then rolls while player B is finishing setting up his checkers.
I would rule against player A here. The game cannot begin until the board has been set up. This has nothing to do with clock rules. The rules do not assign responsibility to each player to set up only their own checkers. Complete setup is a prerequisite for play to commence.
However, I would say that if player B has stopped moving the checkers around and it looks like the starting position, that player A may assume the game is ready to start. The rules permit small errors in setup and allow for their correction prior to the 5th roll. So player B should not be able to intentionally leave one checker off the board for example and after seeing player A's roll and not liking it say, "hey, the board setup is not yet complete - you need to reroll", while otherwise being able to simply correct it after the first roll has been played.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.