[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Legal Moves Club

Posted By: Daniel Murphy
Date: Friday, 10 September 2010, at 1:02 a.m.

In Response To: Legal Moves Club (mamabear)

Mary, you write:

No way would I want the rule written that you get to correct your own illegal moves after you have hit the clock.

And:

What if you have hit your clock, then realize you have played your 6-3 as a 5-3? Your opponent says: a) you in fact rolled a 5-3 and played it correctly; b) agrees it was a 6-3 but disagrees what the starting position was; or c) says he was woolgathering and doesn't recall what you rolled or how you played it, but that it all looked OK to him at the time. He could say any of those things in absolutely good faith, including the last one.

But I think you answered your question here:

Even so, I think the benefit of the doubt must go to the opponent in such cases if he insists you did play legally.

So I don't see a problem with this WBA rule:

1. If an illegal move is noticed before the opponent has rolled his dice it must be corrected.

I think "before the next dice roll" is a satisfactory boundary line.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.