| |
BGonline.org Forums
31P-43Z-C-T-53H-61 at 𣇾
Posted By: Nack Ballard In Response To: 31P-43Z-53H-61 at Gammon Save-nactation? (RolldUpTrips)
Date: Sunday, 30 January 2011, at 6:08 p.m.
The primary rule for H (Hit) is to hit on the highest point. That is the first aspect I look for when I see H. So, for me it doesn't skip a beat when there are red-herring hits on the near side. That is, Paul's choice of 53H is fine and unambiguous for the opponent's third roll play (White's in the above diagrams, Brown's in the original diagram).
31P-43Z-C-T-53H-61-s
31P-43Z-53H-61 at 𣇾
53R is also perfectly fine. Some may prefer R because it automatically dictates the area of the board in which you play. (It's "look here" instead of "look here first.") OTOH, it doesn't tell you that the play hits a blot; you have to notice that part.:) For descriptive reasons, I tend to use H but it's more a matter of slight personal preference more than anything else.
If you want to pose the position at gammon save, then the clearest way is to set up the position as in the left-hand diagram above (and if you have to put in a full score then set it to 1 to 0 in a 2-point match, or 4 to 3 in a 5-point match, or some such) and write the position in one of the ways below:
31P-43Z-53H-61-s
31P-43Z-53H-61-S
31P-43Z-53H-61 at s
31P-43Z-53H-61 at S
31P-43Z-53H-61 at save
31P-43Z-53H-61 at gammon save
31P-43Z-53H-61 at GS[In the sequence, I used Z and H for the second and third plays because Paul did. 43S and 53R are great alternatives.]
I prefer the format "31P-43Z-53H-61-s" (on the first line) because lower-case s is already used in nacbrac format to denote (gammon) save. For example, suppose that in some generic rollout (or say I'm guessing value), Bar/24 13/7 is best, Bar/18 is -.005 and Bar/24 21/15 is -.012. In that case, I write the position and nacbrac as follows:
31P-43Z-53H-61 s[S U5 R12]
You can almost "see" the hyphen between the 61 and the s, which is dropped both for (a) legibility and (b) because if you've already diagrammed or stated the position you don't need to repeat it: "s[S U5 R12]" can stand alone.
Although this situation is in essence gammon save (and that is the way I will catalogue it, for simplicity's sake), Paul chose to include the score and sequence as it actually happened. In that case, you should insert both the cube action (both C or Cub, and T or Tak) and the needs2 needs4 score, as I have done in the caption of the right-hand diagram, the header, and in the first line below.
31P-43Z-C-T-53H-61 at 𣇾
31P-43Z-C-T-53H-61 at n2n4
31P-43Z-C-T-53H-61 at 2a4a
31P-43Z-53H-61 [2]𣇾
31P-43Z-53H-61 [2]n2n4
31P-43Z-53H-61 [2]2a4aAbove are alternatives. The modern 𣇾 or n2n4 stands for "needs2 needs4," which I prefer, though some people are used to 2a4a for "2away 4away."
The last three lines are the same as the first three except the cube information is condensed. It has the advantage of being shorter, but it doesn't tell you when the cube was actually turned (though in the case of this short sequence only one opportunity existed).
Here, the player on roll owns the cube. If the opponent (not on roll) owns the cube, you put it after the score, next to the opponent's score; e.g., 𣇾[2].
Nack
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.