| |
BGonline.org Forums
According to rule 4.8
Posted By: Gregg Cattanach In Response To: According to rule 4.8 (Matt Cohn-Geier)
Date: Tuesday, 22 February 2011, at 2:15 p.m.
Are you trying to correct something I wrote? If so, I am missing the point.
If the Blond does not SEE that Brown did this and just rolled (which is what you are arguing, I gather), then that would be an error on Blond's part and the roll stands (which is also true under a 'legal plays' rule). Part of over-the-board backgammon, under 'legal plays' or the actual rules, is verifying that your opponent has made a legal play. No rule set relieves you of this responsibility.
Claiming 'legal plays' solves this problem is specious (though I don't know if that was the point you were trying to make.)
Back to your example, if the director was called and it can be demonstrated (perhaps Brown is even proud to admit it) that he did this willfully in order to trap Blond, then I would expect a good director to take action against Brown (under rule 1.1). A sanction from the director should be taken against Brown equally under the current rules or under 'legal plays'.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.