| |
BGonline.org Forums
Favorable Review of Rob Maier's Pittsburgh Tournament
Posted By: Rich Munitz In Response To: Favorable Review of Rob Maier's Pittsburgh Tournament (Matt Cohn-Geier)
Date: Tuesday, 22 February 2011, at 4:41 p.m.
If my opponent claims it is borne off, does he have a case? Why or why not?
First of all, the US rules are clear that the checker is absolutely not borne off. That is distinctly different from what it might be which is "illegally removed from play". In that case, gammons are still in effect (as if the legal position arose because only 14 checkers were put on the board at the beginning and nobody noticed).
That said, my interpretation is that if the player hits the clock with checker in hand and then moves the checker directly to the bar that it is on the bar and he should be explained proper procedure and not to do it again. If he keeps the checker in hand and his hand or arm or the checker touches the table in front of him or is moved past the front edge of the table, the checker is now on the table and is removed from play (assuming the opponent insists on it). If the checker is simply held suspended in the air over the table, I would rule the checker on the bar and issue an even stronger scolding.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.