| |
BGonline.org Forums
A Very Tough Ruling in the Cleveland Finals
Posted By: Marty Storer In Response To: A Very Tough Ruling in the Cleveland Finals (Phil Simborg)
Date: Wednesday, 30 March 2011, at 6:13 p.m.
The whole business about the cup touching the checker makes me think the roll should be invalid. Nowhere is it mentioned that the dice were flat and no longer moving before Greg dropped his cup. So I have to believe that was in doubt.
I think an analogous situation would be if someone rolled the dice, grabbed one while it was spinning, then dropped it. For a roll to be valid, the dice have to be shaken (I assume that was done), cast out of the cup simultaneously (as opposed to dropped out, or tossed out one by one--I assume that was done here too), then they have to roll about and come to rest flat on the roller's right side of the board. The fact that the cup interfered with one die means the last part of the valid-roll requirement wasn't met.
The question of whether moving the dice cup off of the die uncocked the die, or moved the number from one to another, is also in doubt and would be another factor supporting the idea that the roll shouldn't be valid.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.