| |
BGonline.org Forums
OT -- Amazing Baseball Hitting Occurrence
Posted By: Jason Lee In Response To: OT -- Amazing Baseball Hitting Occurrence (Bill Riles)
Date: Tuesday, 28 June 2011, at 12:05 a.m.
Here is the entire text of Rule 6.05h:
After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play. If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;
The last sentence must apply here, so technically, this should be ruled a foul ball. As Bill Riles said, it's impractical for an umpire to even know this happened, and it's not subject to instant review.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.