[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Correction — Nactation: Question on P

Posted By: Taper_Mike
Date: Wednesday, 15 August 2012, at 10:24 p.m.

In Response To: Nactation: Question on P (Taper_Mike)


2O '2X2X2X3X2X2X '1X ' '

5O4O ' '2O2O ' ' ' ' '1X
Blue to play 22


2O '2X2X2X3X2X2X1X ' ' '

5O4O2O2O ' ' ' ' ' ' '1X
Blue played I (Inside) = 6/4(2), 5/3(2)

In the preceding post, I said the position on the left was one of the rare times when P could be used to nactate a play that made two points. I thought that all 2s were forced, so that P = 6/4(2) 5/3(2).

That is wrong.

Either 6/2 or 5/1 can be coupled with a point-switching maneuver to produce a valid member of the P (Point) family. Here are the plays:

P = 6/4(2), 5/1
p = 6/2, 5/3(3)

That means that 6/4(2) 5/3(2) cannot slip into the P family under the guise of being forced. It is correctly nactated atop the I (Inside) family.


2O '2X2X2X3X2X2X1X ' ' '

 ' '2O2O ' ' ' ' ' ' '1X
Blue to play 22

Here is a position where the moves are forced. You could argue that P = 21/23(2) 22/24(2). It makes a point (by switching), and then, incidentally, makes a second point as part of a forced move. But only a lawyer (or a lowly computer scientist) would try to make the case. In practice, nobody should nactate this in the P (Point) family.

Should the rules of Nactation be modified so that this play cannot be nactated P? I think not. Common sense is rule enough for me. My preference is the one Nack uses: omit any Nactation for a forced move, and give only the roll.

Mike

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.