[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Poker Hands

Posted By: Stick
Date: Friday, 19 December 2008, at 5:36 a.m.

This past week I started playing a little bit of poker again. I hadn't played in quite a long time because I was both burnt out & worn out by it. It wasn't fun. Now I'm going to start playing a bit again and the first thing I'm playing are what are called *Double or Nothing* tournaments.

The concept is simple, you put up your normal tournament entry fee + the small house rake and if you make it to the last 5 ppl out of 10, you get double your entry fee. I'm starting with the $20+.80 tourneys, low stakes which should be filled like a newly stocked city park pond. If I win I win $40, simple.

We start out with 1500 in chips, blinds at 10/20, and they go up every 5 minutes. (turbos) I will be posting all the hands I keep record of (all ins + any interesting decisions) after every 5 tournaments, probably about once a week, as I don't plan on playing much. Posting will help me tweak anything that needs and take account for my bad play.

T1

Hand #1

Not ideal. I don't like pushing all my chips in (racing) with AKo but it is a good hand. There's 330 from the blinds + antes in, my 450, and his call + all in gives me 1230 in the pot and I have to call 895. Seems like a no brainer with this hand. I don't catch.

Hand #2

Crippled after my last lost with antes & blinds eating away I need to get AI with anything looking like a hand when it's folded to me. This is a great spot. The BB can call with basically anything, does, and I lose my first tourney while going 0/2 on all ins.

T2

Hand #3

I'm pretty low on chips already with blinds + antes cutting into my stack severely per orbit. I raise the standard amount with a solid hand, 88. The math screams call again even if I wasn't dead stacked afterwards. I just have to hope he has two overs (or 66 in my dreams) Call and he doesn't hit.