| |
BGonline.org Forums
Nactation Questions — Clarifying the P (Point) family
Posted By: Nack Ballard In Response To: Nactation Questions — Clarifying the P (Point) family (Taper_Mike)
Date: Sunday, 6 November 2011, at 2:45 a.m.
1. Can a play in the P family ever make more than one point? Can 52S-55P, for instance, mean 8/3*(2) 6/1*(2)? My guess for both questions is, "No."
You are correct. No and no. [That is, unless, entering portion(s) incidentally anchor. 41$-44B-22 played P means bar/23(2) 6/4(2).]
2. Can a play that switches points ever be nactated P? My guess is, "No." A member of the P family must make a new point.
You are incorrect. The answer is Yes.
3. Can a play that gives up one point in order to make another be nactated P? My guess, for the same reason, is, "No." (The preceding question is a special case of this one.)
Again, the answer is Yes.
4. Can a play that moves 4 checkers to the same destination ever be nactated P? Can 43T-43T-11, played 6/5(4), be nactated using a member of the P family? My guess is, "No, because two checker movements were not dedicated to making the new point. They only reinforced it."
You are correct. No.
All checkers in a P move must be directly or indirectly involved in making a point, with no extra portions left over, with the exception of entering.
Examples:
- 31P-55 played P translates to 13/3(2); the checkers on the 13pt (playing "through" the 8pt) are indirectly involved in making the 3pt.
- 51$-43U-22 played P translates to bar/23 8/6 6/4(2). The entering portion can be ignored, and the 8/6/4 portions play "through" the 6pt.
If there is a choice of point that can be (dedicatingly) made, the hierarchy of P/p, etc., is decided (as with most letters) by the hit/most/6 rule.
Nack
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.