| |
BGonline.org Forums
Nactation: Question on P
Posted By: Taper_Mike In Response To: Nactation: Question on P (storm)
Date: Wednesday, 15 August 2012, at 2:52 a.m.
–
Here is the description of the P (Point) family I gave in BGO Msg. No. 127247: The P (Point) family has a Dedication Clause that requires that all parts of a roll be used in making one new point. Moves that make a point, and then move some other checker, cannot be nactated P. Neither can plays that add a spare checker to an already made point. It is, however, acceptable to switch points, or break one point while making another, so long as all parts of the roll are used in making the new point.
The only execption to this rule comes when part of a move is forced. Entering a checker from the bar is the classic example. So long as all unforced parts of a move are dedicated to making a single new point, the play can nactated P.
[The original post includes a position where there are four plays in the Point family. The post explains how to use the Hit/More/Six Rule to rank them.]
And now, Nack’s refinement from the thread “Clarifying the P (Point) Family:”
Mike: Can a play in the P family ever make more than one point? Can 52S-55P, for instance, mean 8/3*(2) 6/1*(2)? My guess for both questions is, “No.”
Nack: You are correct. No and no. [That is, unless, entering portion(s) incidentally anchor. 41$-44B-22 played P means bar/23(2) 6/4(2).]
From these, we see that there is a circumstance where a play in the Point family can make more than one point, but only when doing so is forced. Fearful of confusion, however, I might be reluctant to use P for such a play, even when it is allowed. Consider Nack’s example: 41$-44B-22. Instead of P, I would probably use E (Each) to describe [bar/23(2) 6/4(2)].
To finally answer your question, “Can a play of a doublet switching two points ever be nactated with a member of the P family?” the answer is, “No, except in a few pathological cases that all involve forced moves.”
Blue’s only move is P = 24/22(2), 4/2(2). I would not use P for this, but technically, it is correct. Taking the lead from Nack, I would nactate the move above by giving only the dice roll. Alternatively, I would use E.
Correct, but not recommended: P = 6/4(2), 5/3(2) Once again, it is a stretch to nactate Blue’s move above using P, but doing so is technically allowed.
Mike
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.