| |
BGonline.org Forums
Pgh Labor Day BG Tourn- Director's Decision
Posted By: Golden In Response To: Pgh Labor Day BG Tourn- Director's Decision (Jason Lee)
Date: Wednesday, 29 August 2012, at 1:52 a.m.
Not sure if it was on this forum or elsewhere I read this, but there is already a rule that can be applied to this situation:
"1.2 SCOPE. Except where otherwise specified, the commonly accepted rules of backgammon apply."
One of the commonly accepted rules of backgammon is that a player cannot pass his turn.
If a player hits his clock without rolling, then that would constitute passing his turn which he cannot do, regardless of what he or his opponent might want. However, if a player rolls the dice, does not move any checker and hits the clock then he has taken his turn and the illegal move rule applies.
I agree that it would be preferable for the rules to explicitly cover this scenario.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.