| |
BGonline.org Forums
E-Mail to Bill Davis on New Rules Questions -- Reply
Posted By: Bill Riles In Response To: E-Mail to Bill Davis on New Rules Questions (Bill Riles)
Date: Monday, 14 January 2008, at 10:27 p.m.
Hi Bill,
That is answered in the January 2008 "Ask Danny."
A director could rule as Howard did that if a player rolls his dice prematurely and both people agree on the roll that the roll is returned to the playing surface, especially during our "transition" period, It could be considered a "period of adjustment" ruling. But you are right . . . that gives the fast roller incentive to grab his dice. I personally believe that the quickest way to correct this behavior is to punish the transgressor. It's doubtful that he will ever do it again if punished once.
As to the case when a person snatches his dice up when nobody has seen them, Danny agrees that there is no foul. I'm sure Danny would agree that cocked dice represent no foul, either; however in all these cases, doubling by the offending player will not be allowed.
I'll copy and paste Danny's answer here and ask him what he thinks about what you have written.
Bill
2. Previously, some players when rolling prematurely would grab their own dice as they were bouncing around, once they realized (a split second too late) that the roll was early. With 4.6 in effect, there really isn’t such thing as a premature roll . . . all rolls are valid. So what happens now if somebody grabs his dice mid-roll? Now he’s interfering with a legal roll.
There are three cases to consider:
(1) B has rolled two dice prematurely and both have landed. Then, when he picks up his dice, he has played (“no play”) the roll and A, after completing his own turn, but before lifting his dice may either accept B’s “no play” or require B to make a legal play. After that, A gets another turn.
(2) B has grabbed his dice after one has landed. Then A completes his own turn, but before lifting his dice, specifies whether B is to reroll both dice or only the die that did not land.
(3) B has grabbed his dice before either has landed. No penalty; B has prevented his own error by prompt action.
Note that in no case does B ever have an incentive to roll prematurely. Cases (1) and (2) provide a disincentive.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.