| |
BGonline.org Forums
STACKED!
Posted By: Sean Garber In Response To: STACKED! (Timothy Chow)
Date: Sunday, 5 February 2017, at 11:22 p.m.
This is rule 4.2.2
A player should not touch either his own checkers or his opponent’s checkers during his opponent’s turn. If there is any dispute as to a checker’s position either before or after a move, or regarding the legality of a move itself, the Tournament Director should be called. In no event should a player reposition an opponent’s checkers himself. Checkers that have been hit must remain on the bar until they are able to be re-entered into the game in a legal manner. Checkers borne off must be kept away from the playing surface of the board until the end of the game.
If sentence #3, "In no event should a player reposition an opponent’s checkers himself." is taken alone, out of context, Mr. Chow's interpretation would certainly be correct. Sentence #3 is a sentence within a paragraph, though. It comes right after sentence #2 which says, "If there is any dispute as to a checker’s position either before or after a move, or regarding the legality of a move itself, the Tournament Director should be called." To me, the purpose of sentence #3 is to clarify sentence #2 and nothing more. If Player A rolls a 6 and plays 20/15, Player B is not allowed to move the checker to the 14 point himself, then roll.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.