[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Position of the Day 09-07-25 - Nickels

Posted By: Chuck Bower
Date: Sunday, 28 December 2025, at 10:55 p.m.

In Response To: Position of the Day 09-07-25 - Nickels (Elizabeth (erichktn @ DG))

Yes, same guy (Oswald) famous and with things named after him at BG and contract bridge.

AFAIK there are two interpretations of the Jacoby Rule:

1) Gammons can be scored only with the cube being on a value of 2 or higher.

2) Gammons can be scored only with an already accepted cube.

Rule 1 is different from Rule 2 if automatic doubles are in effect (increasing the value of the cube but keeping it centered when doublets occur on the opening roll, but still requiring a reroll).

I was fortunate to meet the Great and Powerful Oz in LV (at the World Amateur Championship in either 1979 or 1981). I asked him which of the above was the Rule and he said both are valid. I pressed further asking him which he played. Answer: "1".

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.