| |
BGonline.org Forums
Ruling
Posted By: Chuck Bower In Response To: Ruling (Bob Koca)
Date: Saturday, 18 October 2008, at 5:05 p.m.
Clearly (IMO) a gray area. The question is: did the team A+partner complete their turn?
This situation can be worse in doubles but it happens (too often) in singles play as well. The rule says one should announce his action of repositioning dice, but how often does that announcement occur? Maybe 1% of the time; probably much less.
I occasionally (and it happened last weekend at Peoria) have opponents who make a move, reach for the dice and slide them across the table without picking them up. Then stop, take their hands off the dice, and think some more, occasionally changing their move. Is that legal? I've asked this to directors but I don't think the answer has been uniform. (Side question. Has anyone here ever called the director in this type of situation?)
I've actually seen almost the identical situation in singles where a player thinks he stayed on the bar, slides the dice, stops and finds out that he did enter, and then play. Ruling??
Doubles only serve to complicate the issue. Technically only one player is allowed to roll and move. The teammate provides verbal assistance only.
That is why we have directors. Let them make the tough rulings. I can see this going either way. If "legal moves" were in affect this obviously wouldn't be an issue. Ironically if clocks were in use it also wouldn't be an issue, either, for a different reason -- it's pretty easy to tell if one's clock is running or not.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.