| |
BGonline.org Forums
Ruling
Posted By: MFIC In Response To: Ruling (Chuck Bower)
Date: Saturday, 18 October 2008, at 11:07 p.m.
wow! a ruling needed in this situation ? imagine that! Per the current 2008 USBG rules, if either die has been lifted, the roll is OVER.
At my Gammon Associates (G/A) events (ABT, Vietor or weeklies), I have been announcing the following (for over a year) "once a player has made a complete play (played both dice), if he then moves (not lifts, but just moves) either die, his roll is over." I instituted this in order to keep players from innocently (or intentionally) evoking a reaction from the player not on roll , thereby possibly taking advantage.
If the roller announces that he is repositioning or "still considering" options then he may slide the die/dice in order to see the board better or to avoid a potential checker move to hit a die.
It has rarely been brought to my attention as the TD, so I have only ruled a few times.
In this thread's instance, since Player did NOT "come in" with his checker on the bar, therefore he did NOT complete his play ergo, with my G/A rules, he did NOT play the dice YET, I would have ruled that his roll was not over, but warned him about "dragging the dice without notice". However, this situation DID NOT occur within a G/A event, so my ruling would have been that since neither die left the plane of the board, player A can still act on the roll --the only issue would be if the opponents disagree on what the roll actually was prior to A's dragging the dice.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.