| |
BGonline.org Forums
Forfeiture / flag falling
Posted By: MFIC In Response To: Forfeiture / flag falling (Matt Cohn-Geier)
Date: Friday, 13 February 2009, at 6:19 a.m.
Great forum thread! I have read them and re-read some. Someone, perhaps UBK or Matt, mentioned the "RED flashing light" which corresponds with the "falling of a player's flag" (equals plyr's running out of Reserve Time and therefore losing the match).
I, again, got out one of my GTII clocks and researched in the manual and then tested the "Sudden Death" setting. This was after finding that the plyr’s RED flashing light did not come on regardless of CLAIM=ON or OFF in the PRIMARY-time settings.
But if we use the SUDDEN-DEATH-time settings and the CLAIM = ON (in lieu of the current std of PRIMARY-time settings, then when a player's flag falls: his RED light starts flashing AND the Plungers are frozen (e.g. they no longer perform any function --no more time is decremented regardless of how many turns the players might continue on following the FLAG'd condition of the forfeiting player.
ERGO: we have the situation covered as to who FLAG'd first (the RI-Red or Lf-Red); and cannot get dual FLAGGING.
As for the possibility of a "gin position", yes there might be one (or have been one), but it can only be looked at when the players finally notice the RED light flashing.
I specifically queried the "new digital clock rules" committee when we TD’s were asked to review the proposed-revised rules (to get to one page) and be less laborious for players to understand. The thinking from the directors in that group assured me that "gin" positions would still be a consideration, but did not want to belabor( a lot of text) that point. With that said, I as a TD would still allow for a gin-position to be considered in rendering any ruling that came up at one of my ABT events, or in consultation at other ABT events.
Whenever the FLAG/REDlight is finally noticed, a look at the position at that point could be under consideration as a "gin win" for the FLAG'd player.
Richard is correct it was in the previous Digital Clock Rules. And was/is adjudicated with the TD & the players, with the non-Gin-advocating player (e.g. the non-FLAG'd player), calling the rolls for both side until the answer becomes clear.
__________patrick (the MFIC)
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.