| |
BGonline.org Forums
ruling in Madison
Posted By: Daniel Murphy In Response To: ruling in Madison (Bob Koca)
Date: Tuesday, 8 September 2009, at 5:14 a.m.
Thanks. As I read the ABT rules, 'agreeing on the facts' is not done while the clock of the player who objects to an illegal move is running. That player (Rule 4.3) "brings attention to the illegal play and hits the clock," which starts the offending player's clock, which runs while the offender corrects his move. If the allegedly offending player does not agree that his move was illegal, then (as Rule 5.2s allows) he should stop the clock (that is, both clocks) to contest his opponent's claim.
Perhaps the DBgF rule is slightly better, in that it says a player who wishes a move corrected should center both clocks, reach a agreement on the illegality, and then start the offender's clock. That way neither player's clock is running while there is an unsettled dispute. However, under both ABT and DBgF rules as they are, this whole question is moot whenever a player does not wish for an illegal play to be corrected, since in that case there's no dispute thats needs to be settled, and the clock should not be stopped.
Of course, if a player wished to draw director's attention to opponent's frequently illegal moves, then he should indeed stop the clock, as Rule 5.2 allows.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.