| |
BGonline.org Forums
An ethics issue raised in Paris?
Posted By: Daniel Murphy In Response To: An ethics issue raised in Paris? (Strato)
Date: Thursday, 5 November 2009, at 12:20 p.m.
Michael writes: What if Player A is holding a 2 cube and re-cubes but forgets to turn the cube to 4 and Player B accepts it on 2?
If you're playing in Denmark, the cube is clearly on 4, since rule 4.4.6 states that the cube level must be corrected -- which means (although rule 4.4.6 is not as explicit as 4.4.5 concerning Crawford Rule doubles) that both Player A and Player B are obligated to make the correction, as soon as one of them notices that the cube is at the wrong level.
If you're playing under a rules set that does not have such a rule, and you initially thought the cube should be on 2, I'd suggest you reread the rule on cube handling, and reconsider whether a doubling to the wrong level is valid, whether Player A has the right to double at an incorrect level, whether Player B has the right to accept a double at an incorrect level, and how many potentially slimy situations and disputes are avoided by making both players responsible for ensuring that the cube is always at the correct level.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.